Anjon Audhya, PhD

Professor, Department of Biomolecular Chemistry
Senior Associate Dean for Basic Research, Biotechnology, and Graduate Studies
University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health

BS in Biochemistry (Brown University)
PhD in Biomedical Sciences (University of California, San Diego)
Postdoc in Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research)

Email: audhya@wis.cedu

Jon Audhya joined the Biomolecular Chemistry faculty in 2008, following completion of his PhD with Dr. Scott Emr (UCSD) and a Helen Hay Whitney Postdoctoral Fellowship with Dr. Karen Oegema (Ludwig Institute). During this period, Jon took advantage of genetic, biochemical, and microscopy-based approaches to dissect basic regulatory mechanisms that control protein trafficking and organelle dynamics in yeast, C. elegans, and human tissue culture cells. Since arriving in Madison, his research program has evolved to additionally encompass the use of structural and biophysical methodologies that are directed at understanding how defects in membrane transport and architecture contribute to disease. Jon was promoted to the rank of Professor with tenure in 2019 and currently is Senior Associate Dean for Basic Research, Biotechnology, and Graduate Studies in the School of Medicine and Public Health and the Director of the Center for Training in Pharmacology and Drug Development. He is also a member of the American Society for Cell Biology, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and the QMB Program at UW-Madison.

Jon is affiliated with the following graduate and training programs on campus:

Integrated Program in Biochemistry (IPiB)
Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB)
Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology (MCP)
Genetics Training Program
Biotechnology Training Program (BTP)
University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center (UWCCC)

Extramural funding for Jon’s research program has come from the National Institutes of Health, the American Cancer Society, the American Heart Association, the March of Dimes, the National Science Foundation, the American Heart Association, the Spastic Paraplegia Foundation, the Tom Wahlig Foundation, and the Greater Milwaukee Foundation.